The NLNG Prize for Literature is now open for submissions. The prize, being the richest on the continent, is awarded to a published book, alternating yearly among poetry, prose fiction, drama, and children’s literature. The cycle is repeated every four years, and the 2020 prize will be awarded in the fiction category. Nigerian writer and filmmaker Jude Idada clinched last year’s prize worth $100,000 for his third children’s book Boom Boom. 

Only published works by Nigerian writers, irrespective of place of residence, will be considered for the prize. To qualify, the work must have been published after January 2015. The panel of judges is chaired by Professor Mary Kolawole and includes Professor Tanimu Abubakar and Dr. Solomon Axumurana. While Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, Professor Jerry Agada, and Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe make up the NLNG advisory board. 

Submission Guidelines: 

1. 12 copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National identity card), may be submitted either by authors or publishers, in accordance with the genres in competition.

2. Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limiteds External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline.

3. All applicants must submit their entries accompanied by an application form obtainable online from the NLNG website or by clicking the Application Form Download Link Below. Completed forms must be printed and submitted along with the entries.

4. No book published before January, 2016 will be accepted. Complete contact information, including full contact address, email(s), phone number(s) and other relevant contact Information should accompany each submission.

5. An author will enter only one published work, Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at a later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.

6. No members of the Advisory Board or Panel of judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years thereafter. No entries will be entertained from members of NLNG Staff and their families.

7. Failure to meet all stated conditions above will lead to disqualification of the entry.

Send entries to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature,

External Relations Division,

Nigeria LNG Limited,

Corporate Head Officer

NLNG Road, Amadi Creek,

Port Harcourt, Rivers State.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature,

External Relations Division,

Nigerian LNG Limited

4th Floor, Heron House,

10 Dean Farrar Street,

London, SW1 H ODX.

Email: [email protected]