The result of the NLNG Prize for Literature 2019 is finally released. The amazing Jude Idada was announced the winner of the prize. His book Boom Boom, Sickle Cell Anaemia has been announced as the 2019 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature.

Yesterday night, October 11, 2019, he shared his excitement about the win in a Facebook post. Thanking his readers he wrote, “We won it!!!!! The warriors who battle Sickle Cell Anaemia. And everyone out there who in their small and big way fight to end the scourge.”

The NLNG Literature Prize 2019, focused on Children’s Literature. The prize which honours the author of the best book by a Nigerian rotates among four literary genres, namely Prose Fiction, Poetry, Drama and Children’s Literature. The Literary Criticism Prize, which also aims to promote Nigerian Literature, will receive entries on works in literary criticism of Nigerian Literature, especially critical essays on new writings in Nigerian Literature.

According to the publication in national dailies and online media, the Call for Entries for the Literature prize and Literary Criticism opened on February 15, 2019, and closed on April 5, 2019.

” …award ceremony in October 2019. “

Professor Obododinma Oha chaired the panel of judges for this year’s Literature and the Literary Criticism competition. Professor Oha, poet, editor and a translator, is a professor of Semiotics, Stylistics, and Creative Writing at the Department of English, University of Ibadan. He writes poems in English and Igbo.

Other members of the panel include Professor Asabe Usman Kabir and Dr Patrick Okolo. Professor Kabir is a professor of Oral and African Literature at Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto. Dr Oloko, a senior lecturer at the University of Lagos Nigeria, specialization in African postcolonial literature, gender and cultural studies.

The winners of the Literature and Literary Criticism prizes will be announced at an award ceremony on October 2019.