Nnedi Okorafor announces Noor

Nnedi Okorafor Announces “Noor”, her Birthday gift to Readers

As readers wake to another day with the COVID-19 reality, some good news! Nnedi has announced that she submitted the manuscript of her new Novel, Noor, to Daw Books, her publisher. This simply means that Nnedi readers must brace themselves for another exciting experience of African futurism and Juju. As she once warned about Akata Warrior, “Let the reader beware that there is juju in this book.”

She says about the process on Instagram, that Noor “begun as I sat outside the Lagos Airportwaiting for my ride. November 2017”.

Nnedi Okorafor’s novels include Who Fears Death (winner of the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel and Le Prix Imaginales for Best Translated Novel), Akata Witch (an Amazon.com Best Book of the Year), Zahrah the Windseeker (winner of the Wole Soyinka Prize for African Literature), and The Shadow Speaker (winner of the CBS Parallax Award). Her latest releases include her short story collection Kabu Kabu (A Publisher’s Weekly Best Book for Fall 2013) and science fiction novel Lagoon (finalist for Best Novel in the British Science Fiction Association award for Best Novel and a Red Tentacle Award for Best Novel). 

The reading community and cfwriterz wishes Nnedi Okorafor, an exciting new year. We celebrate this gift to us which is her person and the story she tells. Don’t just stand there! Be excited!

Help us keep this literary blog free! Don’t miss our latest Magazine call for submission. We are dedicated to bringing you the best of new fiction, poetry and nonfiction. This literary magazine and our prizes are run solely by volunteers. In order to keep doing this, we rely on voluntary donations and sponsorships. Click here to donate.

About the Author


Damilola is co-author of Life's Chrysalis, where he wrote “Rejection: Like Earth to Rain”. His writing has appeared in The Naked Convos, Africa on the Blog, The Guardian News Nigeria, Viva-Naija News, and Tuck Magazine. He also volunteers with PDBY News at the University of Pretoria. Damilola is an IREBS for African Real Estate Research Scholar at the University of Pretoria, where he is a Doctoral Candidate. He is the Head of Media and Strategy at Upside Africa. Damilola won the Biopage essay contest in 2018. He plays the saxophone for leisure.

Leave the author a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like these

%d bloggers like this: